Profile

Join date: Apr 23, 2022

About

Tyson Fury will look to defend his WBC heavyweight title belt against mandatory challenger Dillian Whyte on Saturday in front of nearly 100,000 fans at Wembley Stadium. Fury (31-0-1), unbeaten through 32 career bouts, is coming off a dominant 11th round KO of Deontay Wilder in their epic trilogy in October. Whye (28-2), meanwhile, found redemption by finishing Alexander Povetkin in the fourth in March 2021.


Fight details

Date: April 23

Start time: 2 p.m. ET card (ring walks for main event approx. 5 p.m. ET)

Location: Wembley Stadium in London

How to stream: Fury vs Whyte Live Stream


One of the biggest heavyweight fights in British boxing history is upon us. Tonight, at Wembley Stadium, Tyson Fury and Dillian Whyte will clash in front of 94,000 fans with the WBC title on the line.


Fury, 33, has claimed that he will sail off into the sunset after this bout, retiring from boxing with or without a victory over his challenger, who has waited years for a shot at a world heavyweight title. Fury, who previously held the WBA, WBO, IBF and IBO belts, won the WBC strap from Deontay Wilder in the second fight of their trilogy of instant classics. He stopped the American in the seventh round in 2020 to earn vindication after being denied a title win in their first meeting – a 2018 contest that ended as a controversial split draw. In his most recent bout, in October, Fury (31-0-1, 22 knockouts) finished Wilder again to retain the gold in the most dramatic of fights, and many in the sport are predicting a similar affair this evening.


Whyte, 34, has a proclivity for turning bouts into brawls, and that is surely his best chance of handing his former sparring partner, the “Gypsy King”, a first professional loss. Last time out, Whyte (28-2, 19 KOs) knocked out Alexander Povetkin in March 2021, avenging his own stoppage defeat by the Russian from August 2020. Prior to the pair’s first clash, Whyte had won 11 in a row since his only other professional loss – a knockout by Anthony Joshua in 2015. Now, the “Bodysnatcher” finally gets the chance to win a world title. He and Fury have exhibited mutual respect this week, but tonight they go to war. Follow live updates from Fury vs Whyte and the entire undercard, below.


Tyson Fury will make his triumphant homecoming in front of a record crowd of 94,000 on Saturday night, when he defends his WBC heavyweight title against Dillian Whyte.


Fury (31-0-1) has contested each of his previous five bouts in the United States, including his incredible trilogy against Deontay Wilder.


Fellow Briton Whyte (28-2) has been ranked as the WBC's No.1 challenger since November 2017 and had to perilously bide his time for this opportunity, avenging his shock knockout loss to Alexander Povetkin in his previous outing.


The Sporting News is at Wembley for the big fight, providing live updates, commentary and highlights below.


Tyson Fury vs. Dillian Whyte live results, updates

7:32 p.m. BST/2:32 p.m. ET: Big right hand from Tommy Fury decks Bocianski in the fifth and he'd like to close the show in style in this final round.


7:20 p.m. BST/2:20 p.m. ET: Fury started to put some big shots together in round two to draw appreciation from the crowd. There's a bigger roar as his big brother appears on the stadium screens though. Tyson Fury has arrived and is here for business.


7:12 p.m. BST/2:12 p.m. ET: Very warm reception for Fury the younger from those who are in their seats already. Bocianski's 10-1 record - all compiled back in his native Poland - does represent a step-up for the former reality TV star.


7:05 p.m. BST/2:05 p.m. ET: Tommy Fury is gloved and ready to go, getting some final instructions from his father John, who hasn't been short of giving anyone his opinion this week. Guess there's no need to stop now.


7:00 p.m. BST/2:00 p.m. ET: As is customary with a big heavyweight bout, there's been plenty of intrigue over how each man tipped the scales yesterday. At 18st 12lbs, Fury was lighter than his previous two outings against Wilder - does this mean he's ready to dance again? Whyte came in heavier than his rematch against Alexander Povetkin at 18st 1lbs - probably an advisable strategy as he prepares to deal with having 6ft 9ins of Gypsy King leaning on him for portions of this evening. Fury was able to do pretty much what he wanted with Deontay Wilder up close; Whyte promises to be a very different proposition in that regard.


6:40 p.m. BST/1:40 p.m. ET: Barney-Smith eased to a points win and we'll soon have the first outing this evening for one of the Fury clan, with Tommy Fury in action at light-heavyweight against Daniel Bocianski. We've been joined in the media seats by former Tyson Fury opponent Otto Wallin, who ruefully reported he'd already been mistaken for former Fury opponent Tom Schwarz. It doesn't sound like it was the first time!


6:20 p.m. BST/1:20 p.m. ET: The punters are already filing into Wembley. Tonight's 94,000 crowd will be a European record for a boxing event. The undercard is underway, with teenage featherweight prospect Royston Barney-Smith enjoying his second workout in the paid ranks.


6:00 p.m. BST/1:00 p.m. ET: Hello and welcome to The Sporting News' live coverage from Wembley Stadium of Tyson Fury vs. Dillian Whyte, for the WBC heavyweight championship of the world.


When the main event begins, around 5 p.m. ET, check out our Fury vs. Whyte live round-by-round updates for our live blog. Prior to the main event, we’ll have live updates and results on all the undercard fights below.

Overview
First Name
Tyson Fury vs Dillian Whyte
Last Name
Full Fight Live Stream